„STEEP“ EVALUATION OF TECHNOLOGICAL AND RESOURCE ALTERNATIVES FOR CARBON FEEDSTOCK TO SUPPORT A RAW MATERIALS TRANSITION IN THE GERMAN INDUSTRY

The transition towards a sustainable low carbon economy is fraught with multiple challenges. The BMBF research group STEEP-CarbonTrans utilizes a comprehensive social-technical-economical-ecological-political (STEEP) approach to investigate how a raw materials transition in the Germany industry could look like, which alternative raw materials could be utilized and what the consequences for the energy and raw material systems would be.

Major global changes ranging from population growth, shifts in economic growth, decarbonisation efforts to technological breakthroughs have led to a rapid increase in global demand for natural resources and raw materials. Confronted with conditions such as climate change, increasing scarcity of water and natural resources, and the globalization of production and trade, political and industry decision-makers face the challenging task of promoting technological innovations that will pave the path for a low-carbon economy while ensuring that raw material supplies to their nation’s industry remain competitive yet secure.

The need to balance between considerations of competitiveness, supply security, sustainability and public acceptance have led to a complex decision environment. In addition to obtaining an overview of the social-technological-economic-environmental-political (STEEP) components in their carbon value chains, decision-makers also have to estimate and evaluate wide-ranging and unanticipated consequences to their raw materials decisions. The objective of the STEEP-CarbonTrans research group is to utilize a systemic approach drawing on concepts/methodologies from both social sciences and technical disciplines to develop comprehensive STEEP methods/tools for evaluating technological and resource chains representing viable carbon feedstock alternatives for the industry to produce value-added products. Its goal is to facilitate a better understanding of the raw materials system as a social-technical system and to provide specific recommendations to support decision-making and measures development for a transition to a competitive, low-carbon, secure and sustainable raw materials management in the German industry.

STEEP-CarbonTrans is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) under its “Nachwuchsgruppen Globaler Wandel” program for a period of 5 years (2017 - 2022) with 2.035 million €. A key objective of the program is the professional development and further qualification of young scientists. The research group is integrated in the Technology Assessment Division at the Institute of Energy Process Engineering and Chemical Engineering, TU Bergakademie Freiberg.

 

Funded by

“STEEP”-BEWERTUNG VON TECHNOLOGISCHEN UND RESSOURCEN-ALTERNATIVEN FÜR KOHLENSTOFFHALTIGE ROHSTOFFE FÜR EINE ROHSTOFFWENDE IN DER DEUTSCHEN INDUSTRIE

Der Weg zu einer nachhaltigen kohlenstoffarmen Wirtschaft birgt viele Herausforderungen. Die BMBF Nachwuchsgruppe STEEP-CarbonTrans nutzt einen ganzheitlich sozial-technologisch-ökonomisch-ökologisch-politischen Ansatz (STEEP), um zu erforschen, wie dieser Übergang aussehen kann, welche alternativen Rohstoffe eingesetzt werden und wie sich diese auf die Energie- und Ressourcenwirtschaft auswirken.

Globale Entwicklungen wie das Bevölkerungs- und Wirtschaftswachstum, bis hin zu technologischen Entwicklungen führen zur steigenden Nachfrage nach natürlichen Ressourcen und Rohstoffen. Angesichts von Rahmenbedingungen wie Globalisierung, Klimawandel und Ressourcenverknappung sind politische und industrielle Entscheidungsträger mit der schwierigen Aufgabe konfrontiert werden, technologische Innovationen zu unterstützen, die den Weg für eine Low-Carbon Economy bereiten, und gleichzeitig die Sicherheit und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Industrie ihres Landes sicherstellen.

Die Notwendigkeit der Bilanz von Wettbewerbsfähigkeit, Versorgungssicherheit, Nachhaltigkeit sowie der öffentlichen Akzeptanz schafft ein komplexes Entscheidungsumfeld. Es ist hochgradig anspruchsvoll für Entscheidungsträger, einen ganzheitlichen und fundierten Überblick über die sozialen, technologischen, ökonomischen, ökologischen und politischen Aspekte (STEEP) der Wertschöpfungskette zu erhalten sowie weitreichenden und unerwarteten Konsequenzen ihrer Entscheidungen abzuschätzen. Aufbauend auf Konzepten und Methoden aus sowohl den Sozialwissenschaften als auch aus technischen Bereichen  nutzt die STEEP-CarbonTrans Nachwuchsgruppe einen systematischen Ansatz, um eine umfangreiche STEEP-Methode zur Bewertung von Rohstoff- und Prozessketten zu entwickeln, die zukunftsfähige Alternativen für die industrielle Herstellung von Wertprodukten aus kohlenstoffbasierten Rohstoffen darstellen. Das Ziel ist, ein besseres Verständnis des Rohstoffsystems als sozial-technisches System zu schaffen und konkrete Empfehlungen bereit zu stellen, wodurch eine zuverlässige und fundierte Entscheidungsfindung sowie die Entwicklung von Methoden für einen Übergang zu einem wettbewerbsfähigen, kohlenstoffarmen, sicheren und nachhaltigen Rohstoffmanagement in der deutschen Industrie ermöglicht wird.

"STEEP-CarbonTrans" wird vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung im Rahmen des Programms "Nachwuchsgruppen Globaler Wandel" für einen Zeitraum von 5 Jahren (2017 -2022) mit 2,035 Millionen Euro gefördert. Ein wichtiges Ziel des Programms ist die berufliche Weiterentwicklung und Weiterbildung junger Wissenschaftler. Die Forschungsgruppe wird in die Abteilung Technikfolgenabschätzung am Institut für Energieverfahrenstechnik und Chemieingenieurwesen der TU Bergakademie Freiberg integriert.

 

Gefördert von