The core of the Krüger Research School is formed by 13 professors and sub-projects. Each sub-project is investigated by one or two PhD students, who will focus their research and thesis on the topic.

Besides the professorships, associated groups with interest in aspects of the biohydrometallurgical process chain contribute to teaching activities in the research school or are involved in common research projects.

The BHMZ is supported by an advisory board, which comprises company representatives with interest in (bio-)hydrometallurgy as well as representatives of the Helmholtz Institute Freiberg, the mining authorities of the state of Saxony (Sächsisches Oberbergamt), the chamber of industry and commerce Chemnitz, and professors of other universities.