Carbon Discovery Trail

What do your smartphone, your T-shirt and your pencil have in common? They all contain carbon! Come join us on our discovery trail to learn more about how this unique element affects our lives, our prosperity, and the environment.

Carbon is astoundingly diverse. As a diamond it is the hardest natural material, while being colorless and translucent. As graphite on the other hand, carbon appears black and soft. And when it is combined with other elements, especially with hydrogen, the range of different properties grows even larger.

About 90% of all known chemical compounds contain carbon. All living organisms consist of organic carbon compounds. Plastics and fuels are compounds made of carbon and hydrogen. As a source of energy and heat, carbon is a valuable driver of development. Consequently, the element carbon is an irreplaceable pillar of our economy, society, and everyday lives.

Unfortunately, the industrial use of carbon also has a dark side. Human-caused emissions of greenhouse gases carbon dioxide (CO2) and methane (CH4) major players in the acceleration of climate change. Natural resources are becoming scarce. Plastics pollute our environment. And for these reasons we need to rethink the future use of carbon.

From the interactive info boards of our Carbon Discovery Trail you can learn ways to reduce CO2 emissions, produce “green” fuel, obtain new products from waste, and much more. Afterwards you can visit the large-scale test facilities used to research new technologies by taking a tour around our institute’s premises.

 

Opening with a celebratory unveiling takes place 18th June 2020 (10:00 o'clock) and can be experienced at first hand in a livestream. The trail will be opened subsequently at 13:00 o'clock for all guests and can be visited everyday from 08:00 to 20:00 o'clock.

Click here for the livestream: Opening of Carbon Discovery Trail.

Please consider - the opening takes place in German language.

Quick information:

What can you expect?

Interactive info boards packed with knowledge and a tour around our institute’s premises with large-scale test facilities 

Where?

Fuchsmuehlenweg 9 (Reiche Zeche) 09599 Freiberg

When?
  • Celebratory unveiling in livestream: 18th June 2020, 10:00 - 11:00
  • Opening of trail for all visitors: 18th June 2020, 13:00
  • Opening hours: Everyday from 08:00 to 20:00

Are there admission fees?

No, it’s free, just come on by!

This is a parallel event of the 4th state exhibition of Saxony (only available in german)

logos


Funded by:

logos

Carbon Discovery Trail – Wissensreise Kohlenstoff

Was haben dein Smartphone, dein T-Shirt und dein Bleistift gemeinsam? Sie enthalten Kohlenstoff! Auf unserem Lehrpfad erfährst du mehr über dieses einzigartige Element und seinen Einfluss auf unser Leben, unseren Wohlstand und die Umwelt.

Kohlenstoff bedeutet Vielfalt. Als Diamant ist er der härteste natürliche Stoff und farblos. Als Graphit hingegen ist er weich und schwarz. In Verbindung mit anderen Elementen, vor allem mit Wasserstoff, wird die Bandbreite an verschiedenen Eigenschaften noch größer.

Etwa 90% aller bekannten chemischen Verbindungen sind Kohlenstoffverbindungen. Alle Lebewesen bestehen aus organischen Kohlenstoffverbindungen. Kunststoffe und Kraftstoffe sind Verbindungen aus Kohlenstoff und Wasserstoff. Als Lieferant für Energie und Wärme ist Kohlenstoff Entwicklungstreiber. Das Element bildet damit eine wichtige Säule unserer Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft und ist aus unserem Alltag nicht wegzudenken.

Die industrielle Nutzung von Kohlenstoff hat aber auch eine dunkle Seite. Der anthropogene Ausstoß der Treibhausgase Kohlendioxid (CO2)  und Methan (CH4) beschleunigt den Klimawandel. Die natürlichen Ressourcen werden knapp. Kunststoffe vermüllen unsere Umwelt. Deswegen müssen wir die zukünftige Nutzung von Kohlenstoff neu überdenken.

Auf den interaktiven Infoboards unserer Wissensreise erfahrt ihr unter anderem wie man CO2-Emissionen reduziert, „grüne“ Kraftstoffe herstellt und aus Abfall neue Produkte gewinnt. Danach könnt ihr euch bei einem Rundgang über unser Institutsgelände die Großversuchsanlagen anschauen, in denen die neuen Technologien erforscht werden.

 

Die Eröffnung mit feierlicher Enthüllung am 18.06.2020 (10:00 Uhr) kann hautnah im Livestream miterlebt werden. Im Anschluss wird der Trail ab 13:00 Uhr für alle Gäste geöffnet und kann täglich von 08:00 bis 20:00 Uhr besucht werden.

Hier gehts zum Livestream: Eröffnungsveranstaltung Carbon Discovery Trail.

Alle Infos in Kürze:

Was erwartet euch?Interaktive Infoboards voller Wissen und ein Rundgang über unser Institutsgelände entlang der Großversuchsanlagen
Wo?Fuchsmühlenweg 9 (Reiche Zeche) 09599 Freiberg
Wann?
  • Feierliche Enthüllung im Livestream: 18.06.20, 10:00 – 11:00 Uhr
  • Eröffnung des Trails für alle Besucher: 18.06.20, 13:00 Uhr
  • Öffnungszeiten: Täglich von 08:00 bis 20:00 Uhr
Was kostet es?

Nichts. Kommt einfach vorbei!

Dies ist eine Begleitveranstaltung der 4. Sächsische Landesausstellung.

 


Gefördert durch:

logos