The demand for raw materials is constantly growing!

We do research on intelligent and innovative solutions to meet it!

Graphic representation of the growing demand for raw materials; a detailed description in text form follows below the chart

 

► Text description of the above graph

In the above diagram by Krausmann et al., the respective global developments of the resource use (in billions of metric tons or gigatons per year) on the left, and the relative growth in population and GDP on the right are juxtaposed for the period from 1900 to 2009.

 

The resources are divided into the following categories (growth trends in the chart are shown as layers arranged one above the other, viewed from bottom to top):

 
  • Biomass (increase from approx. 5 Gt in 1900 to approx. 20 Gt in 2009)
  • Fossil energy carriers coal (incl. peat), petroleum, and natural gas (increase from approx. 1 Gt in 1900 to approx. 14 Gt in 2009)
  • Ores (incl. tailings) and industrial minerals (increase from approx. 0.2 Gt in 1900 to approx. 6 Gt in 2009)
  • Construction minerals (increase from approx. 0.7 Gt in 1900 to approx. 28 Gt in 2009)

The relative growth rates of the population and GDP are depicted in the graph by means of two superimposed lines. These illustrate that the worldwide population quadrupled between 1900 and 2009, while the corresponding GDP rose about 26-fold over the same period.

 

Increases in both the use of resources as well as population and GDP are exponential in nature.

 

The need for raw materials is increasing, from both primary and secondary sources, in Germany and worldwide. Our research efforts at the IAM focus on intelligent machines that help satisfy those needs in the future – sustainably as well as energy-efficiently!

“In this field of research, we are supported by young people who have decided to study mechanical engineering at the TU Bergakademie Freiberg, and thus will secure themselves stable, yet also very exciting career prospects. Contact us anytime!”

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Holger Lieberwirth
Director of the Institute

News

Elisabeth Köstinger is giving her opening lecture at the EUMICON in Vienna
At the EUMICON 2018 from 26 – 28 September in Vienna, approx. 250 renowned representatives from research, business, politics, as well as the raw materials and processing industry spoke on new solutions for a sustainable and responsible way of supplying raw materials within Europe. … weiterlesen
Moscow Kremlin
From 17 - 21 September, the Institute of Mineral Processing Machines was on-site in Moscow for the 29th International Mineral Processing Congress (IMPC) - with more than 1,000 participants, it is the world's largest conference on current developments in the processing of mineral raw materials! … weiterlesen
Benjamin Hernandez during the measurement of the ore samples in the pilot plant
Benjamin Alexander Hernandez from Nicaragua, a degree student at the Lomonosov Moscow State University, completed his two-month stay at the Institute of Mineral Processing Machines at the end of August as part of the IAESTE program. … weiterlesen
DAAD scholarship holder Sarah Schulz
The 10-week long internship of Sarah Schulz has come to an end. The mechanical engineering student from the Ohio State University has been working on a variety of research topics at the Institute of Mineral Processing Machines. … weiterlesen
Syndicate content

Der Rohstoffhunger wächst!

Wir forschen an intelligenten Maschinen, um ihn zu stillen!

Grafische Darstellung des wachsenden weltweiten Rohstoffbedarfes; eine detaillierte Beschreibung in Textform folgt unterhalb der Grafik

 

► Beschreibungstext zur Grafik

Das vorstehende Diagramm zeigt die von Krausmann et al. gegenübergestellten Entwicklungen der globalen Nutzung bzw. Gewinnung verschiedener Rohstoffe (jeweils in Milliarden Tonnen bzw. Gigatonnen) auf der linken Seite, und des weltweiten Bevölkerungswachstums sowie des Bruttoinlandsproduktes (jeweils in relativer Darstellung) auf der rechten Seite im Zeitraum von 1900 bis zum Jahr 2009.

 

Die Rohstoffe sind dabei in die folgenden Arten aufgeteilt (Nutzungsentwicklungen im Diagramm als übereinander angeordnete Schichten dargestellt, von unten nach oben betrachtet):

 
  • Biomasse (Entwicklungsanstieg von ca. 5 Gt im Jahr 1900 auf ca. 20 Gt im Jahr 2009)
  • Kohle, Öl und Gas (Entwicklungsanstieg von ca. 1 Gt im Jahr 1900 auf ca. 14 Gt im Jahr 2009)
  • (Abfall-)Erze und Industriemineralien (Entwicklungsanstieg von ca. 0,2 Gt im Jahr 1900 auf ca. 6 Gt im Jahr 2009)
  • mineralische Baustoffe (Entwicklungsanstieg von ca. 0,7 Gt im Jahr 1900 auf ca. 28 Gt im Jahr 2009)

Die relativen Anstiege des Bevölkerungswachstums und des Bruttoinlandsproduktes (BIP) sind im Diagramm als 2 übereinander angeordnete Linien dargestellt. Diese zeigen, dass sich das Bevölkerungswachstum von 1900 bis 2009 etwa vervierfacht hat, während das Bruttoinlandsprodukt im selben Zeitraum um ca. das 26-fache angestiegen ist.

 

Alle Anstiege – sowohl der Nutzung der einzelnen Rohstoffe als auch der Bevölkerungs- und BIP-Entwicklung – erfolgen in exponentieller Form.

 

Der Rohstoffbedarf wächst, sowohl aus primären als auch aus sekundären Quellen, in Deutschland und weltweit. Wir forschen an intelligenten Maschinen, die diesen Bedarf in Zukunft befriedigen helfen — nachhaltig und energieeffizient.

„In dieser Forschung unterstützen uns junge Menschen, die sich für ein Maschinenbaustudium in Freiberg entschieden haben und damit für sichere, aber auch spannende berufliche Perspektiven. Sprechen Sie uns an!“

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Holger Lieberwirth
Institutsdirektor

Aktuelles

Kolloquiumsteilnehmer machen im Technikum Versuche an einer Gutbett-Walzenmühle
Unmittelbar vor der 11. Deutsch-Russischen Rohstoffkonferenz führte unser Institut in Zusammenarbeit mit seinem langjährigen Forschungspartner, der Maschinenfabrik Köppern GmbH & Co. KG, sowie der Staatlichen Bergbau-Universität Sankt Petersburg ein Kolloquium zu Gutbettwalzenmühlen (HPGR) durch. weitere Informationen
18. Oktober 2018 |

Rheinland-Exkursion des IAM

Gruppenfoto aller Teilnehmer der Rheinland-Exkursion
In der vergangenen Woche besuchte eine Gruppe von Studenten des Institutes zusammen mit Prof. Lieberwirth sowie seinen beiden wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeitern, Tim Hühnerfürst und Richard Kühnel, im Rahmen einer Fachexkursion ins Rheinland Hersteller und Anwender von Maschinen und Ausrüstungen. … weiterlesen
Elisabeth Köstinger hält ihren Eröffnungsvortrag auf der EUMICON
Ca. 250 renommierte Vertreter aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Politik sowie der Rohstoff- und verarbeitenden Industrie referierten und diskutierten auf der EUMICON 2018 vom 26. - 28. September in Wien über neue Lösungen für eine nachhaltige Versorgung Europas mit Rohstoffen. … weiterlesen
Kreml in Moskau
Vom 17. - 21. September war das Institut für Aufbereitungsmaschinen zu Gast beim 29. International Mineral Processing Congress (IMPC) in Moskau – mit über 1.000 Teilnehmern ist es die weltweit größte Konferenz über aktuelle Entwicklungen in der Aufbereitung mineralischer Rohstoffe! … weiterlesen
Inhalt abgleichen