ERASMUS+ programme

Logo des ERASMUS-Programms mit einer Zeichnung Erasmus von Rotterdams

The EU programme Erasmus+ offers exciting opportunities for participants to study, work, teach and train abroad in Europe. It is aimed at students, trainees, apprentices, pupils, adult learners, young people, professors and professionals of organisations active in the education, training and youth sector.

Erasmus+ supports higher education students to study abroad for up to one year in another European university or to gain valuable international work experience in a European organisation.

The ERASMUS+ programme is carried out by the European Union. Named after Erasmus of Rotterdam, a humanist and a European polymath in his time.
The acronym ERASMUS stands for: European Action Scheme for the Mobility of University Students.

The original ERASMUS programme was founded on 15 June 1987 by the Council of Ministers. The aim is to promote cooperations between universities in Europe as well as the mobility of students and University staff.

The 33 Programme Countries of ERASMUS+ are: the 28 EU Member States, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway,Macedonia and Turkey.

TU Bergakademie Freiberg currently maintains Erasmus agreements with 80 partner universities in 23 countries.

TU Bergakademie Freiberg has been awarded the Erasmus Charter for Higher Education for the Erasmus+ programme 2021-2027 by the European Commission. It is our Certificate of Eligibility for the Erasmus programme for Higher Education and our commitment to the Erasmus ideals and programme management guidelines. The European Policy Statement sets out our institutional strategy in relation to the Charter.