ERASMUS program

The ERASMUS program is a program of the European Union. Named after Erasmus of Rotterdam, a humanist and a European polymath in his time.

The ERASMUS program was founded on 15 June 1987 by the Council of Ministers. The aim is to promote cooperations between universities in Europe as well as the mobility of students and University staff.

ERASMUS stands for: European Action Scheme for the Mobility of University Students. In the program attended by all 28 EU Member States plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Macedonia (FYROM), Norway and Turkey.