Group leader Prof. Dr. Dirk C. Meyer

Prof. Dr. Dirk C. Meyer

Chair of compound semiconductors and solid-state spectroscopy

Director of the Institute of Experimental Physics

Room: OG.05

Phone: +49 3731 39 2860

Fax: +49 3731 39 4314

dirk-carl [dot] meyeratphysik [dot] tu-freiberg [dot] de

Prof. Dirk C. Meyer is a solid-state physicist with a focus on crystallography. In his doctorate he analysed the structure and applications of semiconductors and nano-meter thin films. They are predominantly utilised in x-ray optics, sensorics, and data storage. Close cooperation—e.g. in the German Research Foundation (DFG) collaborative research centre 422 “Structure and Properties of Interlayers” and 463 “Rare-Earth Transition-Metal Compounds: Structure, Magnetism and Transport” as well as DFG research group 520 “Functional Ferroic Devices: Physical Bases and Concepts”—characterises the working group’s work. Starting from the synthesis the aim is to analyse all aspects like crystal structure, interface morphology, properties, and applications in a closed chain.

With his work on DAFS and the combination of XAFS and XSW in one experiment, Prof. Dirk C. Meyer contributed to the methodological development of x-ray analysis. These works were awarded with the Max von Laue Award of the German Crystallographic Society (DGK) in 2004. He also worked on the instrumentation of synchrotron experiments, the development and realisation of specific semiconductor detectors, and the digital signal processing for a larger dynamic range of these systems.

During his time as the director of an independent junior research group and his junior professorship “Nanostructure Physics” Prof. Dirk C. Meyer established a group of over 15 diploma and doctorate students and research fellows at TU Dresden. As a lecturer and researcher he dedicated himself especially to crystallography and x-ray methods. He continued his methodological works using synchrotron radiation and put a special focus on the interrelation of electromagnetic fields and crystal structure as well as their application for functional elements. The Institute’s approach to its current research topics is derived from these preliminary works.

After one year as a deputy professor at the Institute’s chair of “Compound semiconductors and spectroscopy”, Prof. Dirk C. Meyer accepted the full professorship at TU Bergakademie Freiberg. His research interest moved to oxidic compound semiconductors or dielectrics whose structure often resemble the perovskite structure. A special focus lies on the coupling phenomena of these materials. The infrastructure of the working group and of the Institute—especially regarding the synthesis and characterisation of thin layers—was considerably improved by third party funds. The direct access to the central cleanroom lab of TU Bergakademie Freiberg that is partly funded by the working group provides the perfect conditions for sample preparation. Thus, new methods like atomic layer deposition and plasma etching were established in the cleanroom lab.

Prof. Dirk C. Meyer has been serving as the prorector of TU Bergakademie Freiberg since 2010 and as the director of the Institute of Experimental Physics since 2011. He is the head of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) joint project CryPhysConcept that uses crystal physics to develop electrochemical energy storage. Prof. Dirk C. Meyer is also in charge of the junior research group PyroConvert that aims at utilising pyroelectric functional materials for energy and material conversion. His work is documented in over 100 publications in international peer-reviewed journals and book contributions as well as patents and patent applications. Prof. Dirk C. Meyer also works as an editor: In June 2014, he published the book “Review on Electrochemical Storage Materials and Technology” (AIP Proceedings Vol. 1597, editors Dirk C. Meyer and Tilmann Leisegang).