Personnel changes in the University Council of TU Bergakademie Freiberg

University main building
The Saxon chief miner Prof. Dr. Bernhard Cramer is a new member of the University Council of Freiberg University. At the suggestion of the Saxon State Ministry for Science, Culture, and Tourism, he takes over the position of Kerstin Salomon, who is leaving the committee.

Porträt Prof. Dr. Bernhard Cramer. Foto: Detlev MüllerAt the meeting of the University Council of the TU Bergakademie Freiberg  At the end of October, Prof. Dr. Bernhard Cramer from the Chairman of the University Council, Prof. Dr. Reinhard Schmidt, was officially introduced as a new member. His term of office lasts until 30. September 2026. For these five years, Prof. Dr. Bernhard Cramer has set high goals: “As a chief miner, I see myself in my new position on the university council, so to speak, in the historical line of succession of the founding fathers of the TU Bergakademie Freiberg. So I have a responsibility to actively support the university on its current path with the great challenges ahead. My goal is to further strengthen the TU Bergakademie Freiberg as a technical university in research and teaching and as an important location factor for the city of Freiberg. "

The geologist who studied in Kiel brings with him extensive expertise. After graduating, he worked as a research assistant at the Institute for Petroleum and Organic Geochemistry at the Research Center Jülich (1994-1997) and received his doctorate in 1997 from the Christian Albrechts University in Kiel. Activities followed as a consultant for natural gas research at the Federal Institute for Geosciences and Natural Resources (BGR) in Hanover and at the Federal Ministry of Economics and Labor in Berlin, where he worked as a resource consultant, in particular on topics of deep geothermal energy and raw material supply for industry. From 2004 to 2011 he returned to BGR, where he was responsible, among other things, for international raw materials and mining projects, for raw material research, and, most recently, for the energy raw materials department at the German Raw Materials Agency. Since 2011 Prof. Cramer has as a chief miner of the Saxon Mining Authority in Freiberg. He has been involved in teaching at the Leibniz University of Hanover since 1998 and was appointed honorary professor for the Institute of Geology there in 2007 Since last year he has been imparting his knowledge as a lecturer on "Raw material geology of fluid hydrocarbons" at the TU Bergakademie Freiberg.

New Vice Chairman of the University Council elected

Prof. KümpelProf Dr. Hans-Joachim Kümpel (BGR) has been a member of the Freiberg University Council since 2014 At its meeting at the end of October, he was unanimously elected deputy chairman of the university council. He takes over the office of Kerstin Salomon, headmistress at Geschwister-Scholl-Gymnasium Freiberg, whose appointment to the university council of the TU Bergakademie Freiberg on 30. September 2021 ended.

Composition of the University Council: 11 members from five different institutions

State Ministry for Science, Culture, and Tourism (SMWKT) and TU Bergakademie Personalities from science, culture, business, or professional practice who are familiar with higher education are appointed. Among other things, the University Council gives recommendations on building a profile and improving the performance and competitiveness of the university, proposes candidates for the election of the rector, and formulates principles for the use of posts, funds, and reserves. At TU Bergakademie Freiberg, the University Council meets twice per semester.

The University Council of the TU Bergakademie Freiberg consists of the following honorary members (as of November 2021):

•    Prof. Dr. Bernhard Cramer (Chief Mining Officer, Saxon Mining Authority)
•    Dr. Claudia Dommaschk (TU Bergakademie Freiberg, Faculty 5)
•    Prof. Dr. Hans-Michael Eßlinger (formerly Managing Director Brauhaus Freiberg)
•    Mr. Wolf-Dieter Jacobi (formerly TV director of the MDR)
•    Prof. Dr. Hans-Joachim Kümpel (formerly President of the Federal Institute for Geosciences and Natural Resources)
•    Prof. Dr. Monika Mazik (TU Bergakademie Freiberg, Faculty 2)
•    Dr. Simone Raatz (Helmholtz Institute Freiberg for Resource Technology)
•    Prof. Dr. Reinhard Schmidt (retired chief miner of the Saxon Mining Authority)
•    Prof Hans-Ferdinand Schramm (Central Saxony Savings Bank)
•    Prof. Dr. Burkhard Schwenker (formerly CEO Roland Berger Strategy Consulting)
•    Prof. Dr. Andreas Tünnermann (Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Optics and Precision Mechanics)

Further information at: (in German)

Fragen beantwortet / Contact: