Scientific Diving Center

Students and doctoral students of the TU Bergakademie Freiberg, as well as from universities worldwide but also staff of companies and public institutions, have the opportunity to get a training in scientific diving at the Scientific Diving Center.

The training covers the application of scientific working methods under water for various fields of application: geology, hydrogeology, hydrochemistry, geoecology, (micro)biology, archaeology and engineering.

At the end of the training, the participants receive a certificate from the Scientific Diving Center of the TU Bergakademie Freiberg as well as the International CMAS license "Scientific Diver" or a certificate as European Scientific Diver (ESD). This identifies the license owners worldwide as trained "scientific divers".

The scientific managers of the Scientific Diving Center are Prof. Dr. Broder Merkel and Prof. Dr.-Ing. Tobias Fieback. The diving instructor is Dr. Thomas Pohl.


Detailed information about the training and the dates you will find on the page of the Scientific Diving Center.

Diving Logo

Contact person is Dr. Thomas Grab
Gustav Zeunerstr. 7, Zi 303
Telefone: +49 (0) 3731-39-3004
Fax: +49 (0) 3731-39-3963
e-mail: Thomas [dot] Grabatsdc [dot] tu-freiberg [dot] de

Scientific Diving Center

Studierende und Promovierende der TU Bergakademie Freiberg, sowie anderer Hochschulen weltweit aber auch Vertreter von Firmen und öffentlichen Einrichtungen, haben die Möglichkeit am Scientific Diving Center eine Ausbildung im wissenschaftlichen Tauchen zu absolvieren.

Die Ausbildung umfasst die Anwendung wissenschaftlicher Arbeitsmethoden unter Wasser für verschiedene Anwendungsgebiete z.B. die Geologie, Hydrogeologie, Hydrochemie, Geoökologie, (Mikro)biologie, Archäologie sowie des Ingenieurwesens.

Am Ende der Ausbildung erhalten die Teilnehmer ein Zertifikat des Scientific Diving Centers der TU Bergakademie Freiberg sowie die Internationale CMAS Lizenz "Scientific Diver" oder ein Zertifikat als European Scientific Diver (ESD). Diese weist die Lizenzbesitzer weltweit als ausgebildete "wissenschaftliche Taucher" aus.

Die wissenschaftliche Leitung des Scientific Diving Centers haben Prof. Dr. Broder Merkel und Prof. Dr.-Ing. Tobias Fieback. Taucheinsatzleiter ist Dr. Thomas Pohl.


Ausführliche Informationen zur Ausbildung und zu Terminen erhalten Sie auf der Seite des Scientific Diving Centers.

Logo mit einer Tauchmaske

Ansprechpartner ist Dr. Thomas Grab
Gustav Zeunerstr. 7, Zi 303
Telefon: +49 (0) 3731-39-3004
Fax: +49 (0) 3731-39-3963
E-Mail: Thomas [dot] Grabatsdc [dot] tu-freiberg [dot] de